Skip to main content

Standards and Guidelines

NYS LOTE (World Language) Learning Standards

The LOTE Learning Standards represent the core of what all people should know, understand and be able to do as a result of their schooling.   Learning standards have two primary dimensions. Content standards describe what students should know, understand and be able to do. Performance standards define levels of student achievement pertaining to content. However, the teaching and learning which takes place in between is the heart of the matter. This addresses opportunity to learn standards and is, perhaps, the most crucial element of the entire process.  

LOTE Publications

These documents which include Resource Guides incorporate the foundations for second language acquisition as presented in earlier State Education Department publications such as the syllabus, Modern Languages for Communication, and Preliminary Draft Framework for Languages Other Than English and Learning Standards for Languages Other Than English.  The intent of these guides is to provide language teachers with ideas for instructional activities that may be spiraled over a three-year sequence, to acquaint them with changes in assessment and how to use assessment tools such as rubrics and checklists for more equitable scoring, and to suggest effective teaching strategies.


Commonly asked questions regarding LOTE requirements, programs and credits.

Proposed Revisions to the LOTE (World Languages Standards)

For the last three years, the New York State Education Department has been engaging stakeholders in the development of proposed revisions to the LOTE Learning Standards.  The proposed revisions to the standards and to the checkpoints (levels of achievement) are informed by the World-Readiness Standards for Learning Languages (national standards, which define the central role of world languages in the learning career of every student. The five goal areas of the Standards establish an inextricable link between communication and culture, which is applied in making connections and comparisons and in using this competence to be part of local and global communities.  The World-Readiness Standards for Learning Languages create a roadmap to guide learners to develop competence to communicate effectively and interact with cultural competence to participate in multilingual communities at home and around the world. 

The World Languages Content Advisory Panel, comprised of more than 20 leaders in the field from across the state, was formed in 2018 in order to assist the Office of Bilingual Education and World Languages in this process.  The review of the national standards and development of the proposed New York State World Languages Standards was conducted by this team in collaboration with seven Regional Standards Committees and three Language-Specific Committees (American Sign Language, Classical Languages, Indigenous Languages), which, in total, are comprised of over 200 New York State teachers and administrators.  From December 2019 through February 2020, the Department sought feedback from the field on the draft of the New York State Learning Standards for Languages Other Than English (LOTE), which we are proposing to be renamed as World Languages. 

World Languages Needs Assessment Survey Results Report

The World Languages Needs Assessment Survey Results Report describes feedback from educators across the state on their specific needs as schools plan to transition to a revised set of standards in world languages.  The report consists of an Executive Summary followed by each survey question.  The Executive Summary contains four sections:  the responses, the results, the feedback, and the analysis and next steps moving forward.  Each question from the survey is then listed, followed by a graph illustrating the data and/or a table showing the breakdown of responses.  A number of questions allowed for additional comments, the most representative of which are reprinted in this report.  In Appendix A, the responses to Question #6 (Which of the following statements best reflects your current knowledge of the revised standards and your comfort level with the shifts they will require?) are disaggregated for deeper analysis.  Please address any questions regarding this report to Candace Black,, (518) 473-7505.

(Updated 12/16/20)