Skip to main content

CTE Content Areas

Technology Education Learning Standards

New York State MST Standards

Standard 1: Analysis, Inquiry, and Design

  • Students will use mathematical analysis, scientific inquiry, and engineering design, as appropriate, to pose questions, seek answers, and develop solutions.

Standard 2: Information Systems

  • Students will access, generate, process, and transfer information using appropriate technologies.

Standard 3: Mathematics

Standard 4: Science

Standard 5: Technology

  • Students will apply technological knowledge and skills to design, construct, use, and evaluate products and systems to satisfy human and environmental needs.

Standard 6: Interconnectedness—Common Themes

  • Students will understand the relationships and common themes that connect mathematics, science, and technology and apply the themes to these and other areas of learning.

Standard 7: Interdisciplinary Problem Solving

  • Students will apply the knowledge and thinking skills of mathematics, science, and technology to address real-life problems and make informed decisions. 


National Standards

The following national standards can be used in addition to the New York State MST Standards for technology education courses. 

International Technology and Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA) Standards for Technological and Engineering Literacy (STEL)