Skip to main content

Advisory Workgroups

PLAN Pilot Advisory Input Process

NYSED has convened an assembly of experts reflective of the diversity of New York State’s school community, to advise program staff on the design and implementation of the pilot.  

Charge and Role

Members of PLAN Pilot Advisory Workgroups are being selected from a diverse pool of Advisors with expertise and experience relevant to the key elements of the pilot program.   

The Advisory Workgroups are charged with collaborating to make recommendations on various aspects of pilot design and implementation, including but not limited to school readiness and onboarding processes, pilot network design, and creating professional learning experiences.  Read the full charge here.  Workgroups are being convened as needed to delve into particular issues related to the pilot’s design and implementation.   

Throughout the process, information will be exchanged with experts from model network organizations and a panel of New York State education stakeholder organizations.  

Active Workgroups

  • Assessment Technical Advisory
  • Pilot Networks
  • Professional Learning
  • Research

Future workgroups will be formed as needed, including a Student Focus Group.  

Completed Workgroups

  • School Readiness (2022-23)

Last updated 09/2023

PLAN Pilot Advisors

Name Title Affiliation
Heather Adams Assistant in Research & Educational Services New York State United Teachers
Katrina Allen-White Principal Syracuse City School District
Richard Altabe Principal Hebrew Academy of Long Beach
Jo Anne Antonacci District Superintendent Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES
Kathryn Bailey Assistant Director, Professional Learning & Innovation Center (PLIC) Broome-Tioga BOCES
Roseann Bayne Assistant Superintendent  CiTi BOCES
Danielle Bouton-Wales Director of K-12 STEM and Secondary Instruction Saratoga Springs Central School District
Dia N. Bryant Executive Director The Education Trust-NY
Shannon Budin Professor / Assistant Dean for Assessment & Accreditation, Teacher Education Unit Buffalo State College
Tara Caraco Administrative Coordinator of Instructional Services Hamilton-Fulton-Montgomery BOCES
Alan Cheng Superintendent New York City Department of Education
Veronica Coleman Principal A School Without Walls
Alexandria Connally Director of Equity, Inclusion & Innovation Nyack Public Schools
Jill Cook Literacy Specialist Office of Special Education Educational Partnership, Mid-Hudson Regional Partnership Center
Stephen Cudzillo International Baccalaureate (IB) Middle Years Program Coordinator Hilton Central School District
Jennifer Dardzinski Department Chair of Liberal Arts & Sciences / Assistant Dean of Instruction Five Towns College
Monique Darrisaw-Akil Superintendent Uniondale Union Free School District
Marnie DeJohn International Baccalaureate (IB) Coordinator / Science Department Chair Queensbury High School
Ronli Diakow Director of Data Analytics, Research & Innovation, Office of Assessment New York City Department of Education
Amy DiMeola Director of Secondary Mathematics & Technology North Shore Central School District
Tracey Edwards Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (DEI) Coordinator Western Suffolk BOCES
Howard T. Everson Professor City University of New York Graduate Center
Kim Fontana Superintendent Pawling Central School District
Sandra Fowler Director of Education Policy Commission on Independent Colleges & Universities
Nicia Fullwood Head of School Brooklyn Emerging Leaders Academy Charter School
Liana Gertzer Science Teacher Clarkstown High School North
Jonah Martinez Goldstein Research Associate Brown University
Simone Gonyea Principal Onondaga Nation School Leadership - Haudenosaunee Educators/Education
Matthew Gonzalez Executive Director of Inquiry, Social Studies & Sciences Yonkers Central School District
Julie Gorlewski Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs & Teacher Education University at Buffalo, The State University of New York
Amy Gotham Special Education Teacher Lake Placid Middle High School
Crystal Griffith Director of Workforce Development The Business Council of NYS
Gail Grigg Special Education Coordinator Rochester Academy Charter School
Martha Group Superintendent Vernon Verona Sherrill Central School District (Sherrill City School District)
Tracy Gyoerkoe Western NY Field Associate NYS Career & Technical Education Technical Assistance Center
Stanley Harper Superintendent Salmon River Central School District
Jennifer Hayden Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction Waterloo Central School District
Linda Haynes Work-Based Learning Coordinator Delaware-Chenango-Madison-Otsego BOCES
Sonia Hood Director of Curriculum Rockville Centre Schools
David Jacob Regional Science Education Coordinator Putnam Northern Westchester BOCES
Brittany Jensen Transition Specialist Office of Special Education Educational Partnership, Mid-West Regional Partnership Center
Katie Jones Director of School Improvement Washington-Saratoga-Warren-Hamilton-Essex BOCES
Laura Kelley Chief Academic Officer Syracuse City School District
Lisa Kissinger Academic Administrator, Social Studies Shenendehowa Central School District
Leah Lembo Education Policy Analyst New York State United Teachers
Jacqueline Levine Director of Curriculum & Instruction Putnam Valley Central School District
Roma Liani Director of STEM, Science Department Chair & Physics Teacher Urban Assembly Charter School for Computer Science
Carrie Lipenholtz Principal Commack High School
Joe Luft Chief of Educator Development New York City Department of Education
Stephen Marositz Associate Superintendent for Teaching & Learning Archdiocese of New York
Laurie Midgette Founding Principal-CEO Cultural Arts Academy Charter School
Susan Nesbitt Perez Senior Vice President for Education Policy Commission on Independent Colleges & Universities
Alan Oliver Principal Massena Central School District
Susan Osborn Principal LaFayette Central Schools
Jerry J. Parisi Director of Special Education Salamanca Central School District
Amy Perepletchikov Director of Design & Content, Office of Assessment New York City Department of Education
Linda Perry Assistant Superintendent for Secondary Education Corning Painted Post Area School District
Patricia Ramos Director of Admissions & Recruitment City University of New York, Queensborough Community College
Sharon Rencher Senior Executive Director, State/Federal Education Policy & Planning New York City Department of Education
Ed Rinaldo Staff Development Director Madison-Oneida BOCES
Saida Rodriguez-Tabone Principal Queens Metropolitan High School
Paul Romanelli Superintendent West Islip Public Schools
Sara Said Social Studies Teacher Claremont International High School
Ray Sanchez Superintendent Ossining Union Free School District
Jonah Schenker Deputy Superintendent Ulster BOCES
Keith Schenker Principal Mt. Pleasant Central Schools
Maria Sommer Assistant Superintendent Sullivan BOCES
Chris Sperry Director of Curriculum & Staff Development, Project Look Sharp Ithaca College
Lisamarie Spindler Superintendent Hudson City School District
Greg Traugh Automotive Instructor Otsego Northern Catskills BOCES, Otsego Area Occupational Center
Craig Tucker CTE Instructor Otsego Northern Catskills BOCES, Northern Catskills Occupational Center
Sarah Vakkas Assistant Superintendent for Instruction Greater Southern Tier BOCES
Ron Woo Executive Director NYS Statewide Language Regional Bilingual Education Resource Network
Jennifer Wu-Pope World Language Teacher Half Hollow Hills School District
Jessica Yawney-Kohler Director of Guidance Connetquot Central School District
Martha Young K-12 Instructional Coach Newburgh Enlarged City School District