Skip to main content

Indigenous Schools

The following Indigenous schools operate through a contract with three school districts on behalf of the State of New York:

Onondaga Nation School
La Fayette Central School District
270 Route 11A
Nedrow, NY 13120

Grades Served: K-8

Saint Regis Mohawk School
Salmon River Central School District
385 Church Street
Hogansburg, NY 13655

Grades Served: PK-6

Tuscarora Elementary School
Niagara-Wheatfield Central School District
2015 Mt Hope Road
Lewiston, NY 14092

Grades Served: PK-6

The Indigenous Education Office also allocates state funding and provides assistance to public school districts that educate Native American children residing on reservations throughout the state. It also administers the New York State Indian Aid program, which provides funding for Native American students attending postsecondary schools. The following federal or state recognized Nations are connected to New York State:

Cayuga Indian Nation
Post Office Box 11
Versailles, NY 14168

Oneida Indian Nation of New York
Route 5, P.O. Box 1
Vernon, NY 13476
(315) 361-6300
Fax: 315-361-6333

Onondaga Nation
258 C Route 11a
Onondaga Nation
Nedrow, NY 13120

Seneca Nation

Seneca Nation of Indians (Salamanca)
G.R. Plummer Building
PO Box 231
Salamanca, NY 14779
(716) 945-1790

Seneca Nation of Indians (Cattaraugus)
William Seneca Building
1490 Route 438
Irving, NY 14081
(716) 532-4900, 532-4907

Seneca Nation of Indians (Oil Springs)
1490 Route 438
Irving, NY 14081
(716) 532-4900, 532-4907

Shinnecock Indian Nation
Shinnecock Indian Reservation
PO Box 5006
Southampton, New York, 11969-5006
(631) 283-6143 (Tribal Office)
(631) 283-0751 (fax)

St. Regis Mohawk
71 Margaret Terrance Memorial Way
Akwesasne, NY 13655
Phone: (518) 358-2272
Fax: (518) 358-3203

Tuscarora Nation
5616 Walmore Road
Lewiston, NY 14092

Unkechauge Nation
Community Center
P.O. Box 86
Mastic, NY 11950
(516) 281-6464