Skip to main content

Contact Us

New York State Education Department 
Office of Curriculum and Instruction
Room 860 EBA
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234

518-474-5922

General Curriculum Questions: emscurric@nysed.gov 
Graduation Requirement Questions: emscgradreq@nysed.gov

Management Team

Assistant Commissioner, Office of Curriculum, Instruction and Early Learning

Marybeth Casey

Marybeth.Casey@nysed.gov

Director of Curriculum Services

Shannon Logan

Shannon.Logan@nysed.gov

Supervisor of Curriculum and Instruction

Erik Sweet

Erik.Sweet@nysed.gov

Curriculum and Instruction Team

Content Area Name Email
AP/IB Fee Waiver Program Sha-Rae Ketchmore Sha-Rae.Ketchmore@nysed.gov
Arts David Seligman David.Seligman@nysed.gov
English Language Arts (ELA)

David J. Coffey

Catherine Coons

David.J.Coffey@nysed.gov

Catherine.Coons@nysed.gov

Gifted and Talented Education Dawn Graham Dawn.Graham@nysed.gov
Graduation/Program Requirements Melissa Montague Melissa.Montague@nysed.gov
Mathematics

Andrea Faoro

Connie Nephew

Andrea.Faoro@nysed.gov

Connie.Nephew@nysed.gov

Middle Level Education Christine Radez Christine.Radez@nysed.gov
Physical Education Darryl Daily Darryl.Daily@nysed.gov
Science

Nicole Marschilok

Nicole.Marschilok@nysed.gov

Social Studies

Lisa Pingelski

Christine Radez

Lisa.Pingelski@nysed.gov

Christine.Radez@nysed.gov

Special Education Patti Rosa-Farleigh Patti.Rosa-Farleigh@nysed.gov
Teacher Centers Dawn Graham Dawn.Graham@nysed.gov
Support Staff, Clerk Mary Beth Boncaro MaryBeth.Boncaro@nysed.gov
Support Staff, Secretary Ron Nichols Ron.Nichols@nysed.gov
Support Staff, Education Specialist Margaret Vogel-Nagengast Margaret.Vogel-Nagengast@nysed.gov
Support Staff, Program Research Specialist Sha-Rae Ketchmore Sha-Rae.Ketchmore@nysed.gov

New York State Education Department Websites Relevant to Curriculum and Instruction

New York State Education Department (NYSED)

The NYSED website provides links to each of the offices under its governance. Important news items from the University of the State of New York (USNY) are posted periodically. A Google™ search engine provides quick and easy access to important topics. 

Office of Instructional Support (OIS)

The Office of Instructional Support provides leadership and oversight for systems coordination and implementation of the New York State Learning Standards (especially the Common Core Learning Standards) and the State assessment program. The work of the Office of Instructional Services transforms learning environments through the integrated use of technology to ensure effective teaching and learning for early education through secondary education in New York State.

Curriculum and Instruction (C&I)

The C&I website provides quick access to each of New York State’s seven learning standard areas (including the NYS P-12 Common Cor Learning Standards), core curricula, resource guides, publications, and links to related resources.

EngageNY

Provides information about the Common Core Learning Standards, curriculum modules for ELA and Math, the Social Studies Framework and Field Guide. 

Part 100 Regulations of the Commissioner of Education

The Part 100 website provides current information about general education and diploma requirements for elementary, middle, and secondary education. Links to regulatory language, resources and contacts are included.

Office of Career and Technical Education (CTE)

Career and technical education (CTE) programs provide academic and technical instruction in the content areas of agriculture, business and marketing, family and consumer sciences, health sciences, trade and technical education, and technology education.

Office of Early Learning (OEL)

The Office of Early Learning provides oversight and technical support to school districts in the development, implementation and evaluation of programs and policies related to educating students in prekindergarten to third grade that are aligned with the NYS Board of Regents Early Childhood Policy. The Office works closely with parents, early care and education agencies, school districts, state agencies and other community advocates to coordinate programs and resources, with the goal of making New York's early learning system as comprehensive and seamless as possible.

Office of Educational Design & Technology (Ed Tech)

The Office of Educational Design and Technology coordinates programs and initiatives that promote the effective integration of technology in P-12 educational environments throughout New York State in order to improve teaching and learning.

Office of Bilingual Education and World Languages (OBEWL)

The Office of Bilingual Education and World Languages strives to ensure all students' individual educational paths and socio-emotional needs are met in multiple languages leading them to college and career readiness.  The goal of the Office of Bilingual Education and World Languages is to provide guidance, technical assistance, and support to NY State Districts, Charter Schools, Non-public Schools, and other organizations (Universities, State Educational Organizations) in the development of programs for  English Language Learners/Multilingual Learners and World Language students. 

Office of Special Education (OSE)

OSE strives to ensure that students with disabilities achieve the knowledge and skills necessary to live independent and self-directed lives.  The Office of Special Education works to promote educational equity and excellence for students with disabilities by overseeing the implementation of federal and State laws and policy for students with disabilities, providing general supervision and monitoring of all public and private schools serving New York State preschool and school-age students with disabilities, establishing a broad network of technical assistance centers and providers to work directly with parents and school districts to provide current information and high quality professional development and technical assistance to improve results for students with disabilities, ensuring a system of due process, including special education mediation and impartial hearings, and meeting with stakeholders through the Commissioner's Advisory Panel for Special Education Services.

Office of State Assessment (OSA)

The OSA website includes links to specific content areas, schedules for upcoming State assessments, previously administered State tests, test samplers, and communications to the field regarding test administration.