Distance Education Post-Approval
This section highlights several key post-approval requirements that may be useful for applicants to know prior to application submission. The information contained herein is not exhaustive, and approved institutions will be held to all applicable laws, regulations, and policies guiding the offering of distance education in New York State.
Term of Approval
The term of approval is 12 months, beginning on the date of approval notification by NYSED. Approval status may be renewed annually, provided the institution continues to meet eligibility requirements and the terms of its approval. Institutions that are disapproved or lose their eligibility must wait 180 days before reapplying.
Institutions must submit a renewal application and fee to extend their approval for additional 12 month terms. Institutions may submit their application and payment to NYSED no earlier than 90 days, and no later than 30 days, before the expiration of the current approval term. Institutions that have not renewed their status before the end of their current term will no longer be eligible to enroll New York based students in their online programs.
NYSED’s renewal application review shall consider the institution’s continued capacity to meet the requirements for approval, including but not limited to the institution’s past compliance with reporting requirements and other terms of previous approvals.
Approved institutions will be required to submit reports to NYSED at minimum on an annual basis. In addition to providing audited financial statements and 990s forms, requirements may include, but not be limited to, the following information disaggregated by course, program, and New York students:
- full-time and part-time enrollment;
- course and program completion rates;
- student retention;
- time to degree;
- graduation rates;
- average student debt by program;
- student loan default rates; and,
- student complaints.
If at any point during the approval term NYSED has reason to believe that the institution is out of compliance with the Requirements and Terms of Approval, or with other applicable regulatory or legal requirements, NYSED may implement additional monitoring and require additional reports from the institution.
Loss of Eligibility
An institution that does not apply for renewal or pay the renewal application fee within the required timeframe will lose its eligibility to enroll New York students in its distance education programs at the end of its approval term.
An institution that loses its eligibility may reapply no sooner than 180 days after the expiration of its current term. An institution that has their approval revoked will not receive a refund of application fees paid to NYSED.
The Department may revoke an institution’s approval based on a finding that the institution no longer meets regulatory or legal requirements, or based on one or more complaints that raise a substantial question as to the institution’s ability to offer distance education programs to students located in New York State. An institution whose approval is revoked during a term of approval will not receive a refund of any application fee paid to NYSED.