Skip to main content


March 6, 2024
For More Information Contact:

JP O'Hare

(518) 474-1201



Statement From Chancellor Lester W. Young, Jr. and Commissioner Betty A. Rosa on Board of Regents Appointments

Regents Cea, Norwood, and Cottrell Reelected to Board for Five-Year Terms

Hasoni Pratts, Seema Rivera, and Patrick Mannion Elected to Represent the Second, Third, and Fifth Judicial Districts

We congratulate Regents Christine D. Cea, Wade S. Norwood, and James E. Cottrell on their reelection today to the Board of Regents and welcome Hasoni Pratts of Brooklyn, Seema Rivera of Albany County, and Patrick A. Mannion of Onondaga County, who will represent New York State’s second, third, and fifth Judicial Districts, respectively.

These Regents and Regents-Elect share our commitment to prepare all young people for success and create welcoming schools for all students, regardless of their race, ethnicity, gender, housing status, sexual orientation, immigration status, ability to speak English, or disability status.

Each Regent brings their own wealth of knowledge and fresh perspectives that will help us develop and implement educational policies and practices that reflect the Regents’ and Department’s commitment to equity and excellence in our State’s schools, colleges, and universities; libraries and museums; adult education and vocational programs; and in the licensed professions.

We thank Regents Kathleen M. Cashin, Josephine V. Finn, and Elizabeth S. Hakanson for their dedicated service to the people of New York and wish them all success in their future endeavors. Their collective dedication to the empowerment of all young people in New York has been invaluable during their time on the Board.

We are honored to continue working alongside Regents Cea, Norwood, and Cottrell and excited to begin our work with Regents-Elect Pratts, Rivera, and Mannion to raise all people's knowledge, skill, and opportunity in New York.