Skip to main content


May 10, 2023
For More Information Contact:

JP O’Hare

(518) 474-1201



State Finalists Selected for 2023 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

Three New York State mathematics teachers and three science teachers are state-level finalists for the prestigious 2023 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) at the secondary level, Commissioner Betty A. Rosa announced today. The PAEMST is one of the most esteemed honors in the nation for teachers and recognizes exemplary teaching and leadership in mathematics and science education.

“These outstanding teachers have deep knowledge of the subjects they teach and the ability to motivate and enable students to reach their full potential,” Board of Regents Chancellor Lester W. Young, Jr. said. “We are intent on building a 21st-century education system that supports all students, and STEM is a critical part of providing these opportunities for our young people.”

“Each of New York’s finalists has demonstrated that by providing engaging and innovative instruction, we can prepare all students for achievement in the technology-driven world in which we live,” Commissioner Rosa said. “They are innovators who encourage students to use initiative and creativity to solve complex, real-world problems through science and math. I wish them all luck in the national competition.”

2023 PAEMST New York State Mathematics Finalists (7-12)
Finalist School District Location

Mrs. Sharon Collins

New Heights Academy Charter School


New York, NY

Dr. Elizabeth Brennan DeGraaf

The Hewitt School


New York, NY

Dr. Scott Kennedy

Sachem High School East

Sachem Central School District

Farmingville, NY


2023 PAEMST New York State Science Finalists (7-12)
Finalist School District Location

Ms. Danielle Dubno-Hammer

Institute for Health Professions at Cambria Heights

New York City Department of Education

Cambria Heights, NY

Ms. Maria Giambanco

High School of Telecommunication Arts and Technology

New York City Department of Education

Brooklyn, NY

Ms. Xue Qing Liang

New Utrecht High School

New York City Department of Education

Brooklyn, NY


New York State Finalists complete a rigorous application process that requires them to demonstrate excellence in content knowledge and effective use of instructional methods and assessments to evaluate, monitor, and improve student learning. Finalists are chosen by a state selection committee consisting of teachers, district personnel, representatives from educator organizations, and past awardees.

These applications are then submitted to the PAEMST National Selection Committee in Washington D.C., which will determine the final award winners from each state. The PAEMST National Selection Committee is comprised of prominent mathematicians, scientists, mathematics/science education researchers and leaders, district-level personnel, and classroom teachers.

Teachers selected as PAEMST National Awardees receive a Presidential certificate, a $10,000 award from National Science Foundation (NSF) and join an elite cohort of award-winning teachers who can influence state and national STEM teaching.

Media Contact

Reporters and education writers may contact the Office of Communications by email or phone at:
(518) 474-1201