Skip to main content


April 27, 2022
For More Information Contact:

JP O’Hare

(518) 474-1201



State Finalists Selected for 2022 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

Two New York State mathematics teachers and two science teachers are state-level finalists for the 2022 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) at the elementary level, Commissioner Betty A. Rosa announced today. The PAEMST, one of the most prestigious honors in the nation for teachers, recognizes exemplary teaching and leadership in mathematics and science education.

“Our PAEMST finalists are leaders in the classroom and among their colleagues,” said Chancellor Lester W. Young, Jr. “Their ability to motivate and enable students to be successful in STEM subjects while maintaining a high level of rigor demonstrates their commitment to their students and the principles of teaching.”

“We are proud to honor the truly remarkable contributions of each of these individuals and congratulate them on this prestigious recognition,” said Commissioner Rosa. “We wish them the best of luck as they advance. I thank each of the finalists for their commitment and leadership in STEM teaching and learning.”

2022 PAEMST New York State Mathematics Finalists (K-6)
Finalist School District Location

Ms. Kristin Hanley

Lakewood Elementary School

Clarkstown Central School District

New City, NY

Mr. Justin Wiedrick

Adirondack Middle School

Adirondack Central School District

Boonville, NY


2022 PAEMST New York State Science Finalists (K-6)
Finalist School District Location

Ms. Michelle Jennings

Brooklyn Science and Engineering Academy

New York City Department of Education: Community School District 18

Brooklyn, NY

Ms. Shiela Lee

PS 59, Beekman Hill International School

New York City Department of Education: District 2

New York, NY


The State Finalists complete a rigorous application process that requires them to demonstrate their excellence in content knowledge and effective use of instructional methods and assessments to evaluate, monitor, and improve student learning. State Finalists are chosen by a state selection committee consisting of teachers, district personnel, representatives from educator organizations, and past awardees.

The State Finalists’ applications are then submitted to the PAEMST National Selection Committee in Washington D.C., which will determine the final award winners from each state. The PAEMST National Selection Committee is comprised of prominent mathematicians, scientists, mathematics/science education researchers and leaders, district-level personnel, and classroom teachers.

Teachers selected as PAEMST National Awardees receive a Presidential certificate, a $10,000 award from National Science Foundation (NSF), and join an elite cohort of award-winning teachers who can influence state and national STEM teaching.

A biography for each finalist can be found on the Department’s website.

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

The PAEMST was established by the White House in 1983 and is sponsored by the National Science Foundation. Every year, the President of the United States recognizes outstanding teachers in STEM (including computer science) from across the nation.

For more information regarding the award process, visit the PAEMST website or contact the Office of Standards and Instruction at

Media Contact

Reporters and education writers may contact the Office of Communications by email or phone at:
(518) 474-1201