Skip to main content


August 13, 2018
For More Information Contact:

JP O'Hare

(518) 474-1201



State Finalists Announced for 2017-18 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

2016 PAEMST Awardees Were Recently Announced by the
White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

Five New York State mathematics and science teachers are state-level finalists for the 2017-18 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) at the elementary school level, grades K-6, State Education Commissioner MaryEllen Elia announced today. In addition, the White House announced the 2016 PAEMST awardees from each state, including two awardees from New York, on June 25, 2018. The PAEMST is one of the highest honors in the nation for teachers of mathematics and science. The award recognizes outstanding teaching and leadership in science and mathematics education.

“These teachers make mathematics and science content come alive in their classrooms,” said Board of Regents Chancellor Betty A. Rosa. “They work hard every day to provide their students with a compelling and innovative learning experience. New York is fortunate to have such excellent educators and leaders in the STEM subjects.”

“Teaching is a difficult job, especially when teaching complex subjects like mathematics and science,” Commissioner Elia said. “The teachers being recognized as PAEMST awardees and finalists have become masters of their craft. Our students are lucky to have these teachers and the countless others who do an outstanding job every day in our classrooms.”

The 2016 PAEMST awardees from New York, who were recently announced by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, are:

2016 PAEMST New York State Mathematics Awardee (K-6)

Awardee School District Location
Kristen Smith Democracy Prep Charter Middle School Democracy Prep Public Schools New York, New York

2016 PAEMST New York State Science Awardee (K-6)

Awardee School District Location
Tayana Thadal Washington-Rose Elementary School Roosevelt Central School District Levittown, New York

Awardees for the Presidential Award of Excellence in Math and Science Teaching complete a rigorous application process that requires them to demonstrate their excellence in content knowledge and ability to adapt to a broad range of learners and teaching environments. A panel of distinguished mathematicians, scientists and educators at the state and national levels assess the applications before recommending nominees to the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. Teachers are selected at both levels based on their distinction in the classroom and dedication to improving STEM education.

The 2017-18 PAEMST finalists from New York are:

2017-2018 PAEMST New York State Mathematics Finalists (K-6)

Finalist School District Location
Lynda Brennan Richard P. Connor Elementary School Suffern/Ramapo Central School District Airmont, New York
Marianne Strayton Woodglen Elementary School Clarkstown Central School District Valley Cottage, New York
Wendy Rossberg Oaks School #3 Oceanside School District Valley Stream, New York

2017-2018 PAEMST New York State Science Finalists (K-6)

Finalist School District Location
Annelise Bopp Sodus Intermediate School Sodus Central School District Sodus, New York
Jeanine Doxsee Franklin Early Childhood Center Hewlett-Woodmere School District Hauppauge, New York

The State finalists are chosen by a state selection committee made up of teachers, district personnel, representatives from higher education, and past awardees. Each finalist demonstrated content knowledge, as well as an effective use of instructional methods and assessments to evaluate, monitor, and improve student learning. The finalists also serve as leaders in education outside of the classroom.

This year, New York was able to recognize up to three Mathematics finalists and three Science finalists. The finalists’ applications were then submitted to the PAEMST Review and Selection Committee, which will determine the final award winners from each state.

The PAEMST was established by the White House in 1983 and is sponsored by the National Science Foundation. Every year, the President of the United States recognizes outstanding teachers in Mathematics and Science (including computer science) from across the nation.

Visit the PAEMST website for more information about the award.