Skip to main content


November 9, 2017
For More Information Contact:

JP O'Hare

(518) 474-1201



NYS Education Department Announces State Finalists for the 2016-17 Presidential Awards for Excellence In Mathematics and Science Teaching


Seven New York State mathematics and science teachers are state-level finalists for the 2016-17 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) at the secondary level (grades 7-12), State Education Commissioner MaryEllen Elia announced today. The PAEMST is one of the highest honors in the nation for teachers of mathematics and science. The award recognizes outstanding teaching and leadership in science and mathematics education.

“These teachers make Mathematics and Science content come alive in their classrooms,” said Board of Regents Chancellor Betty A. Rosa. “The passion they have for their profession makes them role models for the young people they teach and for the colleagues they push to get better. New York is fortunate to have such excellent educators.”

“Teaching, in itself, can be a tough job and can be tougher when teaching complex subjects like mathematics and science,” Commissioner Elia said. “The teachers being recognized here have overcome these challenges to become masters of their craft. Our students are lucky to have you and all the other teachers who do an outstanding job every day in our classrooms.”

The PAEMST finalists from New York for the 2016-17 school year are:

2016-2017 PAEMST New York State Mathematics Finalists (7-12)
Susan Recoon Williamsville Central School District

East Amherst, NY

Daniel Anderson

Shenendehowa Central School District

Clifton Park, NY
Marianne Schoepflin Smithtown Central School District Smithtown, NY


2016-2017 PAEMST New York State Science Finalists (7-12)

Lynda Barry Charles W. Baker High School

Baldwinsville, NY

Elizabeth Guzzetta Allendale Columbia School Rochester, NY
Mr. Kevin Mialky

Dansville High School

Dansville, NY
Kelly O’Shea Little Red School House & Elisabeth Irwin High School New York, NY

The State finalists are chosen by a state selection committee made up of teachers, district personnel, representatives from higher education, and past awardees. Each finalist demonstrated content knowledge, as well as an effective use of instructional methods and assessments to evaluate, monitor, and improve student learning. The finalists also serve as leaders in education outside of the classroom. This year, New York was able to recognize up to five Mathematics finalists and five Science finalists. The finalists’ applications were then submitted to the PAEMST Review and Selection Committee, which will determine the final award winners from each state.

The PAEMST were established by the White House in 1983 and are sponsored by the National Science Foundation. Every year, the President of the United States recognizes outstanding teachers in Mathematics and Science (including computer science) from across the nation.

Visit the Department’s webpage about the PAEMST for more information about the award and to find out how to apply.