Skip to main content

New York State Education Department: Organization Chart - Text Only Version


Secretary to the Board
Chris Halpin
(518) 474-5889

Commissioner of Education and
President of the University of the State of New York

Betty A. Rosa

Counsel and Deputy Commissioner for Legal Affairs
Dan Morton-Bentley
(518) 474-6400

Executive Deputy Commissioner
Sharon Cates-Williams
(518) 473-8381

Senior Deputy Commissioner for Education Policy (P-12 and Higher Education)
Jim Baldwin
(518) 474-3862

Public Affairs
Assistant Commissioner
Keshia Clukey
(518) 474-1201

Governmental Relations
Jennifer Trowbridge
(518) 486-5644

P-12 Instructional Support
Deputy Commissioner

Angelique Johnson-Dingle
(718) 722-2797

P-12 Operational Support
Deputy Commissioner

Jason Harmon
(518) 474-5916

Higher Education
Deputy Commissioner

William Murphy
(518) 486-3633

Deputy Commissioner and Chief Financial Officer
Christina Coughlin
(518) 486-5329

The Professions
Deputy Commissioner

Sarah Benson
(518) 486-1765

Adult Career and Continuing Education Services
Deputy Commissioner
Ceylane Meyers-Ruff
(518) 474-2714

Performance Improvement and Management Services
Executive Deputy Commissioner

Sharon Cates-Williams
(518) 473-8381

Cultural Education
Deputy Commissioner

Mark Schaming
(518) 474-5976