Skip to main content
THE STATE EDUCATION DEPARTMENT / THE UNIVERSITY OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK / ALBANY, NY 12234

State Assessment

New York State Education Department Seal
Office of State Assessment
89 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12234
To: 
District Superintendents
Superintendents of Public Schools
Principals of Public, Religious, and Independent Schools
Leaders of Charter Schools
From: 
Steven E. Katz, Assistant Commissioner
Subject: 
2021–22 Elementary- and Intermediate-level Testing Schedule
Date: 
June 17, 2021
Operational Test Administration Dates Make-up Dates Scoring Dates Final Dates to Submit Answer Sheets to Scanning Centers
2021-22 School Year – Updated, June 17, 2021
NYSAA English Language Arts, Mathematics, and Science Monday, March 14 – Friday, June 10 Make-ups must be given within the testing window N/A N/A
Grades 3-8 English Language Arts (Paper-based) Tuesday, March 29 – Thursday, March 31 Friday, April 1 – Friday, April 8 Friday, April 1 – Wednesday, April 13 Wednesday, April 13
Grades 3-8 English Language Arts (Computer-based) Tuesday, March 29 – Tuesday, April 5 Friday, April 1 – Friday, April 8 Friday, April 1 – Wednesday, April 13 N/A
Grades 3-8 Mathematics (Paper-based) Tuesday, April 26 – Thursday, April 28 Friday, April 29 – Monday, May 9 Friday, April 29 – Thursday, May 12 Thursday, May 12
Grades 3-8 Mathematics (Computer-based) Tuesday, April 26 – Wednesday, May 4 Friday, April 29 – Monday, May 9 Friday, April 29 – Thursday, May 12 N/A
NYSESLAT Speaking Monday, April 11 – Friday, May 20 Make-ups must be given within the testing window Speaking is scored as it is administered. Monday, June 6
NYSESLAT Listening, Reading, Writing Monday, May 9 – Friday, May 20 Make-ups must be given within the testing window Monday, May 23 – Monday, June 6 Monday, June 6
Grade 4 Science Performance Test Tuesday, May 24 – Friday, June 3 Make-ups must be given within the testing window Scoring may start immediately following administration Thursday, June 16
Grade 4 Science Written Test Monday, June 6 Tuesday, June 7 – Wednesday, June 8 Following make-up dates, but no later than Thursday, June 16 Thursday, June 16
Grade 8 Science Performance Test Tuesday, May 24 – Friday, June 3 Make-ups must be given within the testing window Scoring may start immediately following administration Thursday, June 16
Grade 8 Science Written Test Monday, June 6 Tuesday, June 7 – Wednesday, June 8 Following make-up dates, but no later than Thursday, June 16 Thursday, June 16