You are here

Licensed Professionals

Education Law §310 provides that persons considering themselves aggrieved by an action taken at a school district meeting or by school authorities may appeal to the Commissioner of Education for a review of such action. A §310 appeal must be initiated within 30 days of the decision or action complained of, unless the delay is excused by the Commissioner for good cause shown in the petition.

This service is available for licensees in all professions who are in the final 5 months of their current registration period or no more than 4 months past the expiration of their last valid registration period. Each month a new group of licensees will be mailed their registration renewal documents and be eligible to renew online. With this service you may:

  • Complete your registration renewal application, request an optional Professional Photo ID Card, and pay for both with a credit card
  • Choose to become inactive in your new registration period, and/or
  • Change your address

Search by name, establishment, license number to verify a professional's license to practice in NYS.

The practice of licensed clinical social work and the use of the title "Licensed Clinical Social Worker" and the designation of "LCSW" or derivatives thereof in New York State requires licensure as a licensed clinical social worker, unless otherwise exempt under the law.

To be licensed as a licensed clinical social worker (LCSW) in New York State you must:

  • be of good moral character;
  • be at least 21 years of age;
  • have an education that includes a masters degree in social work (M.S.W.) with at least 12 semester hours of clinical coursework acceptable to the Department;
  • have at least 3 years of post M.S.W. supervised experience in diagnosis, psychotherapy and assessment-based treatment planning acceptable to the Department;
  • meet clinical examination requirements; and
  • complete coursework or training in the identification and reporting of child abuse offered by a New York State approved provider.

The practice of licensed master social work and the use of the title "Licensed Master Social Worker" and the designation of "LMSW" or derivatives thereof in New York State requires licensure as a licensed master social worker, unless otherwise exempt under the law.

To be licensed as a licensed master social worker (LMSW) in New York State you must:

  • be of good moral character as determined by the Department;
  • be at least 21 years of age;
  • meet education requirements;
  • meet examination requirements; and
  • complete coursework or training in the identification and reporting of child abuse offered by a New York State approved provider.

The Board of Regents, on the recommendation of the Commissioner of Education, appoints a State Board for each licensed profession to advise and assist the Board of Regents and the State Education Department on matters of professional regulation. The Board of Regents also appoints a Committee for Professional Assistance to advise them on matters relating to practice by professional licensees with alcohol or other drug abuse problems. The 29 State Boards for the Professions and the Committee for Professional Assistance are comprised of professional members and one or more representatives of the general public. The composition of each board and the Committee is specified in Title VIII of Education Law. In addition, Board and Committee composition should reflect the State's regions, cultural diversity, and the various aspects of the professions.

Professional board members must be New York State-licensed professionals who are residents of the State. For many boards, professional member appointees must have at least five years of experience. Committee members are not required to be licensed professionals.

Every State Board must also have at least one public representative (and in some cases up to five public members), who is a consumer of services of the profession(s) on which the board advises. The individual must be a New York State resident and meet various requirements to ensure that the public perspective is not compromised.

The Board of Regents, on the recommendation of the Commissioner of Education, appoints a State Board for each licensed profession to advise and assist the Board of Regents and the State Education Department on matters of professional regulation. The Board of Regents also appoints a Committee for Professional Assistance to advise them on matters relating to practice by professional licensees with alcohol or other drug abuse problems. The 29 State Boards for the Professions and the Committee for Professional Assistance are comprised of professional members and one or more representatives of the general public. The composition of each board and the Committee is specified in Title VIII of Education Law. In addition, Board and Committee composition should reflect the State's regions, cultural diversity, and the various aspects of the professions.

Professional board members must be New York State-licensed professionals who are residents of the State. For many boards, professional member appointees must have at least five years of experience. Committee members are not required to be licensed professionals.

Every State Board must also have at least one public representative (and in some cases up to five public members), who is a consumer of services of the profession(s) on which the board advises. The individual must be a New York State resident and meet various requirements to ensure that the public perspective is not compromised.

Before any prospective school owner decides to pursue school licensure, consideration should be made to be certain that the owner and the institution are in a position to be able to operate in compliance with all of the requirements set forth in Education Law and Commissioner’s Regulations.

In 1891, medicine became the first profession licensed by the New York State Board of Regents. New York's unique system of professional regulation, recognized as a model for public protection, has grown to encompass 800,000 practitioners and over 30,000 professional practice business entities in 50 professions.

Guided by the Regents, a citizen body, the professions are within New York State's unified system of education - The University of the State of New York. This recognizes the key role education plays in both preparing licensed professionals and in ensuring their continuous development.

The State Education Department, under Regents' direction, administers professional regulation through its Office of the Professions, assisted by the twenty-nine State Boards for the Professions.

This service is available for licensees in all professions who are in the final 5 months of their current registration period or no more than 4 months past the expiration of their last valid registration period. Each month a new group of licensees will be mailed their registration renewal documents and be eligible to renew online. With this service you may:

  • Complete your registration renewal application, request an optional Professional Photo ID Card, and pay for both with a credit card
  • Choose to become inactive in your new registration period, and/or
  • Change your address

This service is available for licensees in all professions who are in the final 5 months of their current registration period or no more than 4 months past the expiration of their last valid registration period. Each month a new group of licensees will be mailed their registration renewal documents and be eligible to renew online. With this service you may:

  • Complete your registration renewal application, request an optional Professional Photo ID Card, and pay for both with a credit card
  • Choose to become inactive in your new registration period, and/or
  • Change your address