MEETING MINUTES

Professional Standards and Practices Board

Friday, September 23, 2022

Video Conference

<u>Members Present on Friday 9/23/22:</u> Bonfe, P., Briggs, K., Burnett, B., Buskirk, H., Chiachiere, F., Colon, R., Dyer, J., Ferguson, K., Goatley, V., A., Gorlewski, J., Hysick, A., Jeffers, G., Kurjakovic, K., Lamboy, E., Lobato, K., Ma, W., Maloney, A., Manning, D., Masingila, J., Paul, S., Pope, D., Silvestri, A., Sokol, P., Waite, E., Walter, C., Wiley, K., Wong. P., Wright, C.

Member (s) absent on Friday, September 23, 2022: DiGiovanni, A.

NYSED: Heidi Audino, Elena Bruno, Sarah Eveleth, Laura Glass, Marie Irving, Emily Sutherland

Call to Order/ Welcome/ Information Items

12:02 p.m. -1:17 p.m.

Full Board Discussion:

- Welcome new members, PP subcommittee co-chair
- Review of Agenda
- Approved 2021-2022 PSPB Annual Report
- Approved May 2022 Meeting Minutes

Full Board Discussion: Co-chairs Professional Practices Subcommittee and Co-chairs Higher Education Subcommittee

1:17 p.m. -2:15 p.m.

- Professional Practices Subcommittee shared work on:
 - The Mentoring Standards Guidance
- Higher Education Subcommittee shared work on:
 - Teacher Shortage

Higher Education and Professional Practices Subcommittee Meetings

2:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

- Higher Education Subcommittee:
 - The Higher Education Subcommittee discussed the following topics:
 - Student teaching regulations, certification changes, teacher shortage
 - Laura Glass, Senior Policy Advisor for Higher Education, Emily Sutherland, Director, Office of College and University Evaluation, Heidi

Audino, Associate in Higher Education, Sarah Eleveth, Associate in Higher Education, Marie Irving, Associate in Teacher Education, Office of College and University Evaluation

- Professional Practices Subcommittee:
 - The Professional Practices Subcommittee continued work on the following topic:
 - Mentoring Standards

Full Board Discussion: Subcommittee Report Out and upcoming agenda items

4:40 p.m. – 4:50 p.m.

<u>Adjournment:</u> Meeting adjourned by the co-chairs at 5:00 p.m.