Counties Organized by Regents Higher Education Region

Website Content Area: 
Book Type: 

Canvasses of most actions requiring master plan amendments are conducted of institutions residing within the Regents Region of the proposed action.  Note: canvasses of doctoral programs are conducted of all institutions within New York State that offer doctoral programs.

The Directory of College and University Campuses in New York State lists college contact information and Regents Region.

(Statutory Authority:  Section 50.1(u), Regulations of the Commissioner of Education)

  1. Western Region
    Allegheny County
    Cattaraugus County
    Chautauqua County
    Erie County
    Niagara County
  2. Finger Lakes Region
    Genesee County
    Livingston County 
    Monroe County
    Ontario County
    Orleans County
    Seneca County
    Wayne County
    Wyoming County
    Yates County 
  3. Central Region
    Cayuga County
    Cortland County
    Madison County
    Onondaga County
    Oswego County
  4. Southern Tier Region
    Broome County
    Chemung County
    Chenango County
    Delaware County
    Schuyler County
    Steuben County
    Tioga County
    Tompkins County
  5. Mohawk Valley
    Fulton County
    Herkimer County
    Montgomery County
    Oneida County
    Otsego County
    Schoharie County
  6. North Country Region
    Clinton County
    Essex County 
    Franklin County
    Hamilton County 
    Jefferson County
    Lewis County
    St. Lawrence County
  7. Capital Region
    Albany County
    Columbia County
    Greene County
    Rensselaer County
    Saratoga County
    Schenectady County
    Warren County
    Washington County
  8. Hudson Valley Region
    Dutchess County
    Orange County
    Putnam County
    Rockland County
    Sullivan County
    Ulster County
    Westchester County
  9. New York City Region
    New York County (Manhattan)
    Bronx County
    Kings County (Brooklyn)
    Queens County
    Richmond County (Staten Island)
  10. Long Island Region
    Nassau County
    Suffolk County