Skip to main content

Search Google Appliance

Search Google Appliance

New York Institutions

Revised Student Teaching and Field Experience Regulations

At their July 2014 meeting, the Board of Regents adopted revisions to Commissioner’s Regulations section 52.21(b) governing field experience, student teaching, and practica required of teacher preparation programs in New York State.  (see Regents Item 714brca ) The Regents amended regulations to provide an option for a single student teaching placement (or practica), effective July 30, 2014, for teacher preparation programs leading to most certification areas.

With the implementation of the edTPA, the new State teacher performance assessment required for candidates completing teacher education programs on or after May 1, 2014, a greater focus is being placed on student teaching.  Given the interest of institutions in creating student teaching placements that are longer and that provide candidates with more opportunities for in-depth and clinically rich experiences, the Department recommended amending Commissioner’s Regulations to provide the option for a single teaching placement. To ensure that teacher candidates are provided with meaningful clinical experiences across the grade level of the certificate, the single teaching placement option must meet the following criteria:

  • The field experience must equal or exceed the minimum hours currently required by the certificate(s) sought and the single student teaching placement must equal or exceed a minimum of 40 days of student teaching or practica.
  • The combined field experience hours and days of student teaching or practica must provide candidates with the full range of the grades and developmental levels required by the certificate(s) (e.g., a single student teaching placement and field experience in Early Childhood B-2 must be a minimum of 40 days of student teaching, a minimum of 100 hours of field experience, and cover three levels: Pre K, K, and Grades 1-2.)
  • The mentoring teacher of record at the partnering school/district must hold a certification in the area of the certificate sought or a closely related area, and meet one or more of the following criteria: designated by the district as a teacher mentor or coach, rated Effective or Highly Effective under the school’s/district’s approved Annual Professional Performance Review (APPR) plan pursuant to Education Law Section 3012-c, or hold National Board Certification.

These amended regulations allow institutions the flexibility to choose either student teaching model, (1) the minimum of two, 20-day placements, or (2) a single 40-day placement, as long as the single teaching placement meets the additional criteria noted above. A combination of models may be used within the same program. The single placement option should be met by student teaching unless the specific requirements for the certificate title require practica. Institutions DO NOT need to notify the Department if they opt to use the single 40-day student teaching placement. Not all teaching title areas include the option for a single student teaching placement. Institutions are encouraged to review the revised guidance documents for each certification area to verify whether the single student teaching placement is a regulatory option by going to Pedagogical Core Requirements for Teacher Preparation Programs.