Skip to main content

New York Institutions

Advisory Council

The Regents Advisory Council on Institutional Accreditation is a key external accreditation group comprised of a minimum of nine voting members who are practicing educators and members of the public appointed by the Commissioner and one non-voting member, ex officio. Its purpose is to review applications for accreditation and renewal of accreditation of New York colleges and universities voluntarily seeking accreditation by the Regents and the Commissioner, pursuant to Part 4 of the Rules of the Board of Regents, to establish eligibility to participate in HEA Title IV student aid programs. The Council also reviews such other matters as the Department may ask it to review and makes recommendations to the Regents and the Commissioner based on its review. It also advises the Department on institutional accreditation procedures, standards, and policies [§3.12(d)(1) of the Regents Rules].

The Advisory Council typically meets twice a year to review all applications for accreditation and renewal of accreditation that are submitted to it by the Deputy Commissioner. The organization, procedures and responsibilities of the Advisory Council are set forth in its Bylaws. Council members are:

Council Member & Information Term
Russell K. Hotzler, Ph.D.
New York City College of Technology
The City University of New York
New York, NY
Council Chair
Term ends June 30, 2022
Barbara Bartoletti
Legislative Director
New York State League of Women Voters
Albany, NY
Public Member
Term ends: June 30, 2022
Meg Benke, Ph.D.
Professor, School for Graduate Studies
SUNY Empire State College
Saratoga Springs, NY
Term ends:  November 29, 2021
Katherine McComas, Ph.D.
Vice Provost and Professor
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY
Term ends: January 20, 2023
David Rhodes
School of Visual Arts
New York, NY
Council Vice Chair
Term ends: June 30, 2021
George Santiago, Ph.D.
Former President and CEO
TCI College of Technology
New York, NY
Public Member
Term ends: June 30, 2019

William P. Murphy
Deputy Commissioner
Office of Higher Education

Ex Officio