Postsecondary Education Aid for Native Americans

Website Content Area: 
Book Type: 


Education Law, §4118, provides funding for Native American students for attendance at approved, accredited institutions within New York State.  Student aid is granted annually for up to four years to each Native American student who qualifies.  Students enrolled in programs requiring five years to complete, for example, architecture, can be funded for five years.  Student aid is granted for less than four years if the duration of the postsecondary program is less than four years.  Eligible students must complete an application form and submit proof of tribal enrollment showing they are a tribal member or a child of an enrolled member, be a State resident, a high school graduate or GED recipient, and be accepted to an accredited New York State institution.  As of May 2014, full-time students (12 or more credit hours) are eligible to receive $1,000 per semester.  Part-time students (less than 12 credit hours) are eligible to receive aid pro-rated at $85.00 per credit hour.  Students must maintain at least a 2.0 semester grade point average in order to continue receiving aid.  Aid provided is a grant available for students to use for any educational related expense.  Approximately 300-400 students each semester are awarded this grant.  All eligible students meeting application requirements and filing deadlines will be funded.



Federal Statute:       

Federal Regulation: 

State Statute:             Education Law §4118

State Regulation:     



State-                           100%


Special Revenue-       

Total-                           $0.598m